Lips I’m Rocking for Fall

Long time, no post!  Anyway, fall is upon us, and it’s time to adjust your makeup for the season.  While I love my corals and other bright colors, I prefer more muted shades right now, like berries and nudes.  Let’s go ahead and see what are my picks- I’m starting from drugstore to high range, so there are choices for any price!

Cover Girl Lip Perfection in shades Delish (left) and Heavenly (right).  These are pretty underrated- I’ve heard little to no PR with them and I held off from purchasing, but they are a great quality for a drugstore lipstick.  They have a nice range of colors to choose from, and if you pay attention to sales, you can get these for a good deal.  I have three other shades from the line (Fairytale, Hot, and Spellbound), but these two colors are great for fall.  They are on the creamy side, so they’re not amazing at lasting long, but they do leave a nice tint of color after wearing off.  Regardless, I highly do recommend these if you’re looking for a good lipstick.

If you’re looking for a more natural tint of color, balms are great to use, and there are no better value than Maybelline’s Baby Lips.  For fall, Cherry Me (left) and Peach Kiss (right) are perfect- they have a SPF of 20 so your lips are protected, and they’re very moisturizing.  These are made for quick trips or to school, as you don’t need a mirror to put them on, and they’re very compact.  And the price?  Can’t beat them for a great tinted balm.

Remember last year’s craze for Revlon’s Lip Butters?  While the hype has died down, these are still great products for everyday use- for fall, Raspberry Pie (left) and Pink Truffle (right) are perfect colors.  Raspberry Pie is a great berry stain, while Pink Truffle is more of a medium pink-nude color.  While I think they’re overpriced, the range of colors and often sales of Revlon products make them a great choice when you keep your eyes out.

This year’s hype was Revlon’s Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain, and I arrived on this fairly late- I owned the Tarte version before buying this (in Honey).  Now owning the high end and drugstore versions, I honestly see no difference- they even smell the same, which is minty.  Honey is definitely more of  a mauve color than it appears in this pic, but it’s still a nice neutral choice.  This has a nice moisturizing effect, and while it doesn’t last amazingly, it also leaves a nice tint of color long after it wears off.  I also own Sweetheart, which is a hot pink color, but obviously it’s more of a spring-summer shade.

Pixi’s Lip & Line in Fresh Pink is something I wear constantly at the moment- I picked this up when Target was having a small sale on some of their higher brands, and I’m in love with it.  It has a nice scent that reminds me of MAC’s lipsticks (but this is more of a passion fruit scent), and this is THE exact shade of my lips, so it’s perfect for a no-makeup makeup look for me.  I picked this up when it was 75% off, but now it’s reverted back to the $18 price tag, which I don’t know if I’ll re-purchase- as much as I love it, there’s not enough product to warrant that price.  Regardless, I love Pixi’s products; they’re of awesome quality, flattering colors, and a variety of products.

Of course, I have to include MAC lipsticks- from left to right is Fire Sign (LE), Please Me, Brave, and Faux.  Please Me and Brave are awesome pinky-nudes for me, while Faux is more of a medium nude color.  Fire Sign looks terrifying at first, but it’s pretty darn sheer that it becomes a gorgeous berry tint.  What makes MAC lipsticks great are the variety of colors, the different finishes, and the classic vanilla scent.

Tarte’s Lip Surgence in Moody is the high end version of Revlon’s lipstain balms, and as mentioned before there’s no difference in quality.  The only edge on Tarte’s side is that their products are natural, and they have a better range of colors (I’ve heard Clinique’s range is better, but I haven’t tried them though).  Moody is a great berry stain that isn’t offered in Revlon’s line, perfect for fall.  What I said for Revlon also works here- the balms are moisturizing and leaves a nice tint after it wears off.

NARS’ Velvet Matte Lip Pencil  in Dolce Vita is my second favorite shade on me, after Pixi’s Lip & Line in Fresh Pink.  It’s a dusty rose color is that it’s flattering to my complexion and it looks really natural due to its finish.  My only complaint that because it’s a wide pencil, it’s going to be a pain to sharpen.  Luckily, Dolce Vita is also available as a lipstick, so if I can ever afford it, I’ll just buy that instead of repurchasing it as a pencil.

Last but certainly not least, Yves Saint Laurent’s Rouge Pur Couture Vernis A Levres Glossy Stain (say that five times fast) in Encre Rose is a fabulous pop color that is still appropriate for fall.  While I didn’t love the lipstick formula, the formula for this is incredible.  It’s moisturizing, it lasts for a long time, and it smells lovely.  The only strike against it is the price tag, but honestly, you get what you pay for in this case.  It’s a wonderful product, and it’s appealing in everything- the scent, the packaging, the color, the formula… everything.

2 responses to “Lips I’m Rocking for Fall

  1. I love the lipsticks from Revlon, need to try them!

Leave a Reply

