Makeup Wishlist

I like to keep lists on thing I’d love to either test or purchase when I financially feel able to (unfortunately, I lost my job earlier this month, so no frivolous spending for a good while); I find lists a great way to cut down on impulsive spending, and keep track on items you’re interested in. Most of the time I write my lists on index cards so they’re easy to take with me, but I’ve run out of cards, so I thought this would be a neat post to make.

Before I start, this is not a pity post (oh woe is me, I’m unemployed and I want stuff whah) because I honestly would be embarrassed if even a family member would purchase anything for me, especially for makeup or related items.  I think I have too much as it is, and I do need to be using some of it up before I purchase more.  This post is to show my viewpoint of what I’m interested in and why, because these items I’ve already tried via samples or purchased them in a different shade.

(Pictures were taken from the Sephora and Ulta websites)

Jurlique Herbal Recovery Gel: I received this sample from a previous Sephora order, and I love this.  This does have a heavy rose smell, which luckily I love, and it feels so light on my skin.  People have complained about  its stickiness, but I personally didn’t experience it.  My only hesitation about it is the price tag ($48), and there are other serum samples I need to use up first, so this purchase may not even happen.  Regardless, I’ve listed it anyway because of how much I’ve enjoyed it.

Caudalie Beauty Elixir:  I purchased this back in May, and I’m sadly very close to finishing the travel size.  This is such an incredible toner-serum combo that I’ve really been missing using it, because I don’t want to run out.  I may end up purchasing the bigger size, which is also $48, but it’s over three times the size of the travel version, so it’ll last much longer.

Josie Maran Argan Oil: I had a sample from a previous Sephora order, and I have raved about this in an earlier post.  Luckily, the small size for this is only $14, and it’s so concentrated it’ll last me forever.  I’ve used the sample since I received it in June, and I still have halfway to go.

Flower By Kenzo: Another Sephora sample, but honestly I pushed it aside at first because I’m extremely picky about perfume.  I finally did give it a chance, and I felt so bad.  This is a wonderful floral scent, but my only complaint that it is a bit strong for me for everyday use.  I’ve learned that if I want to wear perfume, I actually have to wear it the night before, so that it becomes more of a faint scent.  When I do decide to purchase it, this will honestly be the third or fourth perfume I’ve ever owned (first being Clinique Happy and second being Dior Addict).

Philosophy Amazing Grace: The last Sephora sample, this is another great floral scent with a hint of musk.  It’s more subtle, so I tend to use this more often than the Kenzo sample.

Urban Decay eyeshadows in Blackout, ABC Gum, and Tease:  I haven’t completed my Urban Decay Build Your Own palette yet, but these would be the three shades I’d choose to complete it.  I own a few other neutral shades, but I always go back to my current Urban Decay shades (Buck, Walk of Shame, and Freelove) as they last the longest and they’re just gorgeous.

Maybelline Color Tattoo eyeshadows in Tough as Taupe and Audacious Asphalt:  I love using these as bases for my eyeshadows, and I love the slight tint of color they bring to the shadows as well.  If you haven’t tried these yet, I highly recommend them, even the fun shades like Fierce & Tangy (the orange shade).

Leave a Reply

